Sorry about the lack of posts….

Indeed….sorry for the lack of them but I’ve not been on any interesting adventures so I’ve been getting things sorted at work and getting a few bits of kit before I go. Not the most exciting stuff to report on….but I do have a few kit updates! Sorry if the rest of this post is a little nerdy but its still a part of the trip I guess. While I’m taking a pretty relaxed approach to what kit I need, at the end of the day I’m heading to New Zealand not Timbuktu so if I really get stuck I can get things there, but I do want to get a few bits sorted before I go so I know whats what with them.

The first new kit purchase was a new saddle. As I’m going to be spending a lot of time there I thought I would get one that should be more comfortable and I believe a good choice is one made by Brooks. If you haven’t checked them out have a quick look, they make some amazing saddles and have been for years. I was very tempted with a leather one…the ones with springs look great but I think they are a little higher maintenance so I went for a C17 which is more rubber based which will hopefully provide a sofa like ride…I haven’t used it on anything very long yet but when I do I’ll give you all a bit of feedback…don’t worry I won’t go into too much detail!

IMG_2643

As you can see in the picture above (sorry not a brilliant one I know) I’ve got the new saddle on. I’ve also finally fitted mudguards and placed at the front there is my new tent! Now this I was more excited about than I probable should admit! While lying in my old tent I noticed an hole which isn’t ideal and while its been epic it is a little cramped when your in it so I’d been looking for another one for a while. At the bike touring festival a lot of people recommended the MSR Hubba Hubba (what a name!) so after I got back I had a look into it. It seemed to tick all the boxes….light to carry (under 2kg), is free standing and is a good size to spend a day in which may happen if the weather really is crap. There’s two variants, the NX and HP with the HP being a bit more suited to 3 season camping so I figured that fitted my trip a bit better.

I didn’t get a picture of it up but I promise I will in time but I did go up to the peaks to go climbing a few weeks ago and got to test it out…the weather was crap so not a lot of climbing was done but it did give the tent a good test run and it preformed epically! Good in lots of rain and wind!

The last bit of nerdness I’ll leave you with is I’m looking into putting a dynamo on the front hub. There seems to be a few different options out there but I want one I can turn on and off so when a mahoosive hill appears or when I don’t need to charge anything I can choose to switch it off because while the resistance won’t be huge it is a waste of energy to be charging nothing. As its based around the hub I need to get the wheel respoked so I’m going to ask my local bike shop to do that for me, I’ll let you know what I end up with and when its on the bike.

Any more kit or adventures I’ll let you know but the big day of setting off is getting closer! Very exciting!

 

Leave a Reply

